Another Saturday Night….

And we are still here in the helicopter house! But enquiring minds want to know and I love to share!

GOOD NEWS

The downstairs plumbing rough in is complete and tested. No leaks!!

This is the shower mixer, which is a diverter to enable us to have both an overhead rain fitting and a wall mounted shower head…. Roger & Jan, we paid attention!!

Electricity is “alive” downstairs.

And the electrician will be back on Tuesday to complete his rough in.

He has been very thoughtful, thorough and flexible, accommodating last minute requests such as adding in motion sensors to the outside lighting after the lights had been wired. He is on our Christmas list!!

Alec is stuck in to installing the pocket doors. The first one was from the main room to the wardrobe. That turned out to be easy because there were 2 walls at right angles to attach to. The second was more difficult because it was a straight line. He is now an expert on both variations which is a good because he stil has 7 to go!!

My primary goal today was to save the lemon tree from the infestation of Japanese Beetles. My netting plan did not work. It simply made access to the tree more difficult for the beetles, but once the got in they were trapped. The poor tree didn't have a chance. I picked them off by hand and dropped them into a bucket of vinegar…not nearly as effective as the petrol I used last year, but the only thing I had available.

For a quasi-Buddhist, this was an interesting task. I struggled with my decision to protect the tree at the expense of sentient beings, but I just couldn't find any value that these suckers (literally) add.

I had my leather work gloves on for this lovely job, and they reacted with the vinegar in much the same way as they did with the petrol last year. Sort of like henna run amuck! I will probably freak people out for about a week…

Other than Japanese Beetle genocide, I did manage to begin to restore order to the front garden. A year of neglect had taken its toll, but I cleared out copious amounts of weeds and redefined the structure of the landscaping.

Should have taken before pictures.

I rescued the “flower monster” plants that Andrew gave me cuttings for during our first year here.

They should end up looking like this:

I'll keep you posted!

BAD NEWS

While some of you may wonder why we aren't taking to the streets yelling, “We're mad as hell and we're not going to take it any more!”, in actual fact we just accept that it is what it is. Jason the general contractor needs knee surgery. The gyprock didn't get delivered to Mooney Mooney until too late on Friday to get delivered for installation this weekend. The tiler is booked until the end of January and maybe we can find someone else ….. Or maybe not. It is what it is… But neither one of us would choose to be anywhere else.

However, I shudder to think how the 40 year old Janel would have coped!

 

Leave a comment