Rolling Out the Welcome Mat

On these last days of what has been a landmark year, we welcomed our first two sets of luncheon guests. Keeping it simple with quiche and salad, it was a luxury to have my very own kitchen again to play in!

Thanks to Dianne Yates for documenting our Friday gathering! We started our tour at the top of the block and worked our way down.

Beer was offered and accepted by Bob and we settled in for a relaxed catch up as it had been too long since our last visit. Life gets a bit in the way sometimes…

The path to the ferry takes us past one of the lusher gardens on the island. I love the flower monsters and took some cuttings a couple of years ago that are now doing nicely in my garden.

Today we welcomed Mike and Debby Royal. It was Mike's first visit since construction began. Too busy yakking and eating to take photos, but a good time was had by all.

And now I am sitting on the bed enjoying the view and charging my iPad.

The sticker was left on the outside of the window when they took the scaffolding down. When all of the construction has been completed we will get someone in to clean all of the windows and scrape off the sticker….
I have hung two of the Japanese woodblock prints that my mother brought back from Japan the summer I turned 13. They fared better than the pottery she collected that summer.
Next to the window is my traditional Taiwanese farmer's raincoat. These were still around in 1964 when we moved to Taipei, but swiftly replaced by plastic. Mine was purchased in Portland, Oregon, some years ago from a shopkeeper that insisted it was from Mexico. I finally just stopped arguing and paid…
On the opposite wall is an oil painting of a Chinese sailboat signed and dated 1968. From Hong Kong, I think, but I must check with my mother.
In just a few more hours it will be a brand new year. Although many are eager to see the back end of 2016, many uncertainties lie ahead.
May the force be with us all….

 

Leave a comment